The Fantastic Mr. Feedbag

A website celebrating and enumerating Juneau, Alaska's food culture

The Best Wheat Free Granola Bars, ever!

with 5 comments

Wheat Free Granola Bars

Going to school full time and working at a school makes meal planning difficult. Commuting to and from school for graduate school and student teaching makes meal planning essential. I always make my lunch in the morning or the night before. I don’t have time to leave school for a quick fix meal on the go during lunch time, so packing good food is important. I’ve noticed that on days that I go running, that my energy is pretty low after a full day of student teaching.

Have you guys seen the price of wheat free products? They’re ridiculous! Seriously, I can’t rationalize (or afford) paying seven dollars for a box of lame bars or cereal. I’m stubborn and I love whole foods. Which means that my life is a little more difficult, but often a lot more delicious.

I think these little granola bars are the perfect after school snack for days when I’m training for my first 10K run. I’m happy to report that this last week I was doing four mile runs!

My inspiration for these bars came from a recipe via All Recipes that I modified to suit my tastes and wheat free ways.

Don’t forget to cut these bad boys after letting them sit for a couple of minutes! If you don’t cut them into long rectangles, they’ll turn into one giant rad granola bar of goodness.

Ingredients:
– 2 cups rolled oats
– 1/2 cup of maple syrup
– 1/2 cup of olive oil
– 1/2 cup of apple sauce
– 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon of allspice
– 1 teaspoon of nutmet
– 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose GF flour
– 3/4 cup raisins (optional)
– 1/4 cup of dried apricots, diced
– 1 teaspoon salt
– 1/4 cup of shredded coconut
– 1/2 cup of walnuts, chopped
– 1/2 cup of pecans, chopped
– 1 egg, beaten
– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Instructions

– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

– Generously grease a 9×13 inch baking pan (I used olive oil to grease my pan).

– In a large bowl, mix together the oats, spices, gluten free flour, raisins, apricots, pecans, walnuts and salt.

– Make a well in the center of your dry ingredients: pour in the maple syrup, apple sauce, beaten egg, oil and vanilla.

– Mix well using your hands. Pat the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.

– Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in the preheated oven, until the bars begin to turn golden at the edges.

– Cool for 2 – 4 minutes, then cut into bars while still warm.

– Don’t let these bad boys cool to much before cutting.

Variations on a theme & serving suggestions: These granola bars are versatile, allowing for different ingredients. Imagine if you will peanut butter & chocolate chip granola bars, dried cherry & almond granola bars, or banana & walnut granola bars. All totally possible by tweaking a few things with this recipe.

These bars are so decadent you could serve them as a desert with a little scoop of sorbet or ice cream. Instant win!

Happy Eating!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for this! I’m trying my best to stay GF, and sometimes I need a quick snack for a run. It is crazy how expensive GF stuff is! I’ve been learning how to use Bob’s flour in things, but it’ll be great to have a stash of bars to help keep me away from things I shouldn’t be eating!

    Hope

    October 23, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    • Thanks for checking it out!! I can relate to really needing something quick on the run. I always carry a banana in my bag, a few baby carrots, and some water. But it gets tough trying to juggle healthy eating, work, etc. 🙂

      Patrice Helmar

      October 23, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  2. I’m sure it’s somewhere in one of your other posts, but what made you go wheat/gluten free? I’m having some stomach issues and have been seriously thinking about it. Also, what do you think the calorie count on something like this would be?

    AnaV

    AnaVera

    October 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    • Hi AnaVera,

      Sorry it’s taken me awhile to reply – I decided to go gluten free after doing a spring cleanse this past year. I don’t think I’m allergic to wheat, but not eating wheat makes me feel better. I think a lot of folks with stomach issues, or GI problems find that cutting out wheat can be helpful for digestion.

      It is definitely a difficult change – but you should try it for a week and see how you feel.

      I’m not sure what the calorie count on these granola bars is. I love this recipe calorie counter from Spark People you should check it out if you’re interested in these bars:

      http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-calculator.asp

      I think they may be slightly high, but if portioned correctly they probably aren’t so bad. Also, you could replace all the oil with apple sauce or non-fat yogurt. If you wanted you could also use an egg replacement.

      Let me know if you decide to go gluten free and if it helps with your stomach issues.

      Take Care,
      Patrice

      Patrice Helmar

      November 2, 2011 at 11:03 pm

  3. Oo, I have never put flour in my granola bars. I bet that makes them more chewy? I’ll have to give this a shot! And gf, too. Awesome.

    jenny

    April 13, 2012 at 12:39 pm


Leave a Reply

